Happy birthday, Mary Margaret!

Four generations: A photo of my grandmother, mother, daughter and me at a Mother’s Day luncheon in 2009.

Today would have been the 90th birthday of my grandmother, Mary Margaret Adair Woods. Our beloved queen and matriarch was called home to be with her Heavenly Father on Sept. 3, 2011, and not a day goes by that I don’t miss her or wish I could pick up the phone and hear her voice just one more time.

As my 7-year-old daughter knelt at her bedside, she said “Dear God, today is my Mammaw’s birthday. Please tell her happy birthday for me and that I love her.” A sob caught in my throat but then I immediately praised God that my children will always have wonderful memories of her. What a blessing!

Happy birthday, Mammaw! We love and miss you but know you’re in heaven having the biggest celebration of all surrounded by your mother, father, siblings and other family members, friends and loved ones.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

